reverb10 Prompt: One Word

Prompt: One Word. Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?

2010: venturesome

I tried so many new things in 2010. I was more willing to get out of my comfort zone this year, with great results! Veganism. Kayaking. Biking. I moved offices. I changed habits little and small. We’re trying yoga together. I tried acupressure. He switched jobs. We tried a CSA for our produce. I submitted proposals to present at conferences. Entertained the idea of going independent. I let go of a lot of old ideas about myself and my limitations – and I’m happier for it!

2011: integrated

I’ve planted a lot of seeds in 2010. They might not seem connected on the surface, but I think 2011 could find me more centered – and yes – integrated! As I wrote down my goals for the next year over this Thanksgiving, I had categories: physical well being, relationships, career. I noticed that several things I wanted for myself in the new year were applicable to multiple categories. For example, I want to learn basic Spanish – which will make a trip with friends more fun, but also be good for my career, and help me conquer old feelings of inadequacy when it comes to learning languages. It’s all connected.

Leave a Reply

