reverb10 Prompt: Community


Prompt: Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011?

Three years ago, I prayed for community. I wanted to be surrounded by people who worked for the betterment of those around them, and weren’t afraid to be open about their spiritual life. I asked the universe to bring me to community.

Three years ago, I got a job at a catholic high school. I also found CAYA, a pagan organization that ran full moon circles in my area.

I thought that CAYA was the community I had prayed for. I signed up for a leadership position. I dove in head first and attended as many circles and rituals as I could.

Three years later, I have stopped going to CAYA. But, as part of my job I go to mass on a regular basis. I have conversations about the Divine in the lunchroom, and stop and pray for five minutes every day during the morning prayer. Sometimes the prayer is to Jesus, sometimes it’s in Hebrew. For the start of Muslim holy months, the prayer is from the Koran. And sometimes, just sometimes, the prayer calls out to God Our Mother.

This past year I looked around at mass and realized that I had the community I’d prayed for, but it had come in a form I didn’t expect. The Universe is tricky like that.

And yet, I miss CAYA. One of my goals is to go to the circles more often in 2011. I miss the people, and the beauty, and the participatory nature of a pagan circle.

I am blessed to have such options for community. To have been given so much in response to my prayers.

Leave a Reply

