reverb10 Prompt: Wisdom

Prompt: Wisdom. What was the wisest decision you made this year, and how did it play out?

Every night, I pour myself a glass of water and put it on my nightstand before I go to bed. In the morning, I stay in bed an extra minute, and chug the lukewarm water. As simple as this is, it’s been the best decision that I have made all year.

Better than the decision to go vegan, or to stay late on my half-days to get ahead, or to prep proposal paperwork for next year’s conference right after this year’s ended. Better than the choice to finally see a dentist or healer. Better than all the choices that saved me stress or bought me more sleep or saved me money.

Water.

I have struggled with headaches for years. It took a series of health scares to make me do enough research to realize that I likely have low blood volume and chronic dehydration. A botched spinal tap that caused me to leak spinal fluid didn’t help. One glass of water in the morning has helped set things to rights – keep the blood volume up, the cravings for salty snack foods down, and set the right tone for the day.

It was a hard habit to develop, but it was what my body needed and I finally had to come to terms with the fact that I’m not a teen anymore, and I need to treat my body well if I want to live well. It was such an adult thing to do – as close to wisdom as a thirty-something can get.

One glass of water.

Leave a Reply

