reverb10 Prompt: Appreciate

Prompt: Appreciate. What’s the one thing you have come to appreciate most in the past year? How do you express gratitude for it?

I love, love, love my house. Just the other night my husband turned to me and said, “I love how quiet it is here.” I don’t think a week goes by that I don’t stop for a split second and think, “I love the sound of rain on the skylights” or “I love how the garden looks in the fall” or “I love having my own laundry room.”

When I imagined what it would be like to have my own place, I thought I’d dive right in and paint the walls, re-do the kitchen to my exact specifications, and keep it spotless with a combination of eco-friendly cleaners. Right. This place is so much larger than any apartment I’ve ever lived in, and big changes like that are time-consuming and expensive.

We’ve settled in, and while I still want to change the kitchen and paint a few walls, I’m very happy with things the way they are.

I am also lazy. That’s why we hired professional cleaners. After all, I have successfully avoided having to learn how to clean a toilet bowl and have no intention of starting now. Weekends are busy enough without having to clean the place on top of grocery shopping and laundry. God forbid there needs to be garden work done, or a minor repair – that’s the whole weekend right there!

I do also think that this is one of the ways I express gratitude for my place. After all, this house is my largest investment. Hiring professional cleaners to come in every other week is essential maintenance. It’s a bonus that it makes my home sparkle and shine like something loved.

Leave a Reply

