reverb10 Prompt: Beyond Avoidance

Prompt: Beyond avoidance. What should you have done this year but didn’t because you were too scared, worried, unsure, busy or otherwise deterred from doing? (Bonus: Will you do it?)

I didn’t do yoga every day so the practice slipped away.

I really want it back.

Today, I got up early with my husband, even though I didn’t need to. It was a deliberate choice to start doign yoga every day these next two weeks I have off. As he was getting ready, I pulled out a book that’s been gathering dust for far too long. Meditations From the Mat: Daily Reflections on the Path of Yoga by Rolf Gates takes you through the eight limbs of yoga, step by step, over the course of a year. Each day has a quote, a thought … a something to help you find your focus.

This had been something I was thinking about as a way to get me back to a place of consistency. Many times I have started with Day One on January 1st. But who does yoga in the morning after a New Year’s Eve party? Besides, today is a New Year’s Day of sorts, it’s the Solstice.

So I read the entry for Day One. I could see the places where I had underlined things before. (I have started this book many, many times but never finished it.) It’s about the spiritual journey, and how all great journeys end where they start – at home. The last line of the entry is, “Allow this book to awaken you, to be a light that shines in the darkness, guiding you through your days, pointing you home.”

That image is so powerful, on today of all days. All over the world tonight, and on Christmas Eve, people (mostly in Europe, true) will leave a light or candle in the window. It’s a light for “the Christmas Traveler.” You might know the traveler as the Christ Child, Santa, Mary and Joseph or La Befana.

For me, right now, the candles in the window are for me. For that part of me that went missing or to sleep or wherever when I stopped practicing. I’d like to awaken her, guide her home.

Leave a Reply

