reverb10 Prompt: New Name


Prompt: New name. Let’s meet again, for the first time. If you could introduce yourself to strangers by another name for just one day, what would it be and why?

I always knew that if I went into witness protection I’d rename myself Trudy Swan. I was nearly named Gertrude, and would have been called Trudy. I know that it’s a big name, but I think I could have pulled off Trudy. It would have suited me just as much as the name I was really given. Both are unusual, and memorable, which I’ve learned is a great asset. As a last name, I’d take a family name that I also would not have minded – Swan. Who doesn’t want that as a last name? King is another contender. Gertrude King? I could swing that. Also, the whole thing sounds enough like my real name that I would have likely responded to it.

Leave a Reply

