Reverb11: Music

(I loved Reverb10, where I was sent a writing prompt every day of December. It was a great way to reflect on the year and set some goals. Alas, Reverb11 is not going to happen unless I do it. So, I’ve collected the prompts from last year, exchanged a few of my own, and will select one every day.)

Prompt: Music. What’s your favorite song from 2011?

I discovered a lot of great new music this year – Vampire Weekend, Florence & The Machine, Cyndi Lauper and Garth Stevenson have all been in heavy rotation. But KT Tunstall’s latest album called Tiger Suit became an instant favorite somewhere on my trip to AZ when I played it over and over and over on the plane. The entire album is fantastic, but Push That Knot Away is pretty much a theme song for the year.

KT says “it’s a signature track on the album for me, as it was one of my first attempts at mixing a picked acoustic tune with electronica. Big, magic step for me.” Which might explain why it feels so good to me – creepy acoustic gothic undertone, manic electric on top. It’s a frenetic song about slow, dark things, and I love it.

Some of the lyrics:

May you always may you always walk in hope
And may your days just be a way
To walk upon a great high road

When the dark comes when the dark comes to your door
You deny him don’t recognize him
He’s not welcome anymore
In your life in your life in your life

In the forest in the forest when you hear
Something that scares you
Be aware that it is frightened of you too

You can push that knot away you can push that knot away
You can push that knot away you can push that knot away
You can push that knot away you can push that knot away

This song really spoke to me this year, as I felt some relief from seasonal depression – “he’s not welcome anymore.” I love the image of a knot. As if depression were a knot in a muscle you could work out. As if it were a monster or wild animal that is just as nervous in the dark as you.

It’s the kind of song I found myself cranking up and singing along to when I was alone, an anthem and a battle cry and a reminder all at once.

Leave a Reply

