Reverb11: College

(I loved Reverb10, where I was sent a writing prompt every day of December. It was a great way to reflect on the year and set some goals. Alas, Reverb11 is not going to happen unless I do it. So, I’ve collected the prompts from last year, exchanged a few of my own, and will select one every day.)

Prompt: College.
If you could go back to school, where would you go and what would you study?

(This is my prompt. I work in higher education, and tour colleges a lot. I’m always revising my list of schools to go to if I could do it all over again.)

This year I toured Sarah Lawrence College and just fell in love. Before this year, I would have said that St. John’s in New Mexico would have been the place, but SLC is giving it a run for the money.

One of the things I got to do at SLC was meet with an adviser. She and I pretended I was a new freshman, and we were going to sign me up for classes. It was so much fun! I really wanted to be 17 again so I could go back to school. I am such a nerd. But seriously, who doesn’t want to take Oral History, Rituals of Death and Dying, Beginning Spanish. Hell, I even enjoyed the music class we got to visit and I can’t read a note!

One of the things we did for ‘homework’ before we got there was to write a personal statement. It’s something college applicants have to do, so why not us. It was a lot harder than I expected and taught me two things – A) I needed to revise how I taught my essay workshops and B) one could make a writing project out of all the personal statements required to apply to colleges. Seriously, you could make it a biographical poem-thingy. It’s really tempting to try. My life in 500 words or less.

Leave a Reply

