Reverb11: One Word

(I loved Reverb10, where I was sent a writing prompt every day of December. It was a great way to reflect on the year and set some goals. Alas, Reverb11 is not going to happen unless I do it. So, I’ve collected the prompts from last year, exchanged a few of my own, and will select one every day.)

Prompt: Word. Encapsulate the year 2011 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2012 for you?

Lush. Floating in an infinity pool over the coast of Mexico was lush. Filling my kitchen with fruits and vegetables every week was lush. Picking raspberries to make jam was lush. Spicy dark chocolate. Snuggling in bed. Snuggling on the couch. The full moon. Doing yoga while looking out at my garden was lush. Feeling the warm air on my skin as I rode my bike was lush. Shelves filled with books. My herb garden. Rain on the skylight. Walking around the lake. Sketching in New York. Buying books whenever I wanted. Shopping with my girlfriends. New dresses. Getting my hair cut. Discovering body oil. Movies just for me. Having magazines to read on planes. New Suitcases. Having him always pick up the phone when it’s me. Candle glow. Walking with a new mom to the park. My life is so rich, so full, so sensuous. It’s lush.

Luminous. In 2012 the full moon coincides with major stuff – his birthday, my birthday, our anniversary, Halloween – holidays, trips, the works! It’s busy, but it’s also a year that I want to take slow. (For sure it needs to be slower than last year.) I’m not interested in the calendar of the sun and the stop watch, but the calendar of the moon. I want to be drenched in the light of the moon. I want to have luminous dreams and yoga practices that light me up inside. I want to glow from the inside because I’m drinking water, meditating, participating in ritual and sleeping well. I want to be luminous with my own power, my own agency.

I recently read that my birth cards in Tarot are the Hermit and the Moon. I knew that the Hermit was ‘my card’ – I’ve always known. I’ve always been drawn to it and it’s the first card I check in a new deck to see if I want to buy it. But the Moon was a shock, I didn’t like it. I want to explore why it makes me uncomfortable. After all, I use my intuition all the time. Dreams and hunches inform my work. The moon, and all things associated with it like dreams and wishes and the unseen impact me all the time. I need to own it. I would like to be aware of the moon’s cycle. I would like to spend 2012 getting in touch with the soft, warm dark of the night – so I can be luminous.

PS. Last year I wrote this.

Leave a Reply

