Reverb11: Skill

(I loved Reverb10, where I was sent a writing prompt every day of December. It was a great way to reflect on the year and set some goals. Alas, Reverb11 is not going to happen unless I do it. So, I’ve collected the prompts from last year, exchanged a few of my own, and will select one every day.)

Prompt: Skill. What skill would you like to cultivate – learn or refine – in the next year? Why?

Randomly, we took an archery lesson this year. It was in a dirty old metal tube of a building, and the owner / instructor was a man who enjoyed un-PC jokes, but it was still awesome. I loved it. I’ve shot lots of guns in similar indoor ranges, and like the meditative stillness required of shooting, but when you shoot a bullet from a gun there is a lot of kick-back and noise. There is a whisper and a snap with a bow-and-arrow. Also, I got better at it in only an hour. Then my arms got tired and I got worse, but still. It was remarkably satisfying. And a bit sexy.

Three things made it seem like a good idea to go to an archery range.

1) We are watching the Walking Dead and one of the characters does not shoot zombies with a gun – as that makes too much noise and thus attracts the undead – he uses a bow and arrow. It is, when you think about it, the ultimate end-of-the world weapon. Quiet, re-usable, and light.

2) We both read The Hunger Games trilogy this summer. I liked it as I like any dystopian novel, and am excited for the movie. The weapon of choice for the heroine, first for hunting game and then humans, is a bow and arrow.

3) There was a Groupon, so it was cheap.

I’d like to go back to the range, or any other. I’d like to get into this and get better. I have no illusions that one day I will need to shoot zombies to defend myself or squirrels to feed myself, but I’d like to know I could it I had to. Also, it’s something my husband and I could do together and that’s always a plus. Ready yourself for the apocalypse and have a romantic date all at the same time. Lovely.

One response to “Reverb11: Skill

Leave a Reply

