Reverb11: Everything’s OK

(I loved Reverb10, where I was sent a writing prompt every day of December. It was a great way to reflect on the year and set some goals. Alas, Reverb11 is not going to happen unless I do it. So, I’ve collected the prompts from last year, exchanged a few of my own, and will select one every day.)

Prompt: Everything’s OK. What was the best moment that could serve as proof that everything is going to be alright? And how will you incorporate that discovery into the year ahead?

I drew the Star card over and over and over this last year. Whenever I got a little panicky or a little scared, there it was in my daily or weekly tarot reading. And why not? There is something about looking up at the stars that instantly calms me. Seeing the night sky so clearly in Colorado. Seeing the night sky from a boat cruise around the bay in Miami. Over the bay in Mexico. From our own balcony in California. We look up and give a breathy “wow” like little children. I am always looking up to find my bearings. Some of my clearest memories involve the night sky. The meteor shower my parents woke me and my husband up for. The sky above the woods at camp as we all pretended to be wolves. The summer sky over a dark college campus. I look up and find my place.

Is she watching? I think so. I think she is the stars and she is watching.

Leave a Reply

