Reverb11: Beyond Avoidance

(I loved Reverb10, where I was sent a writing prompt every day of December. It was a great way to reflect on the year and set some goals. Alas, Reverb11 is not going to happen unless I do it. So, I’ve collected the prompts from last year, exchanged a few of my own, and will select one every day.)

Prompt: Beyond Avoidance. What should you have done this year but didn’t because you were too scared, worried, unsure, busy or otherwise deterred from doing?

Yet again, I started a novel. I had a burst of energy and enthusiasm that consumed me for a few days, and then that spark puffed out like a tiny birthday candle.

Always, I am sure this is the one. The one I will finish and be proud of.

Always, it is not.

I was too busy to sustain the momentum. I was too worried about it being good enough to keep going. I was too scared – of what I am not even sure.

I won’t pretend that I couldn’t have written this post last year, and the year before that.

I won’t pretend I won’t write it again next year.

PS. Last year I wrote this.

Leave a Reply

