Reverb11: Best Book

(I loved Reverb10, where I was sent a writing prompt every day of December. It was a great way to reflect on the year and set some goals. Alas, Reverb11 is not going to happen unless I do it. So, I’ve collected the prompts from last year, exchanged a few of my own, and will select one every day.)

Prompt: Best Book. What’s the best book you read in 2011?

Last year I was determined to record every book I read. I was going to post a little bit about it on the blog – one for each day of National Book Month. I even went so far as to write a few Amazon reviews. Faced with this question, now, however, I am at a loss to name one in any real detail. And it’s even a prompt I made up, too.

I loved the book a friend recommended as a model for the book we could write together.

I loved the book I picked up on a whim because I liked the cover and the contents were like a little prose poem.

I loved the book that completely messed with my world view.

I loved the book that I threw across the room at the end.

I loved the teen novels that will soon be a movie.

I loved the gardening manual.

I’ve loved a lot of books this year. And that’s the mark of a good year.

Leave a Reply

