Reverb11: Appreciate

(I loved Reverb10, where I was sent a writing prompt every day of December. It was a great way to reflect on the year and set some goals. Alas, Reverb11 is not going to happen unless I do it. So, I’ve collected the prompts from last year, exchanged a few of my own, and will select one every day.)

Prompt: Appreciate. What’s the one thing you have come to appreciate most in the past year?

This is going to sound cheesy, but I really learned to appreciate my husband this year. It’s odd that it would be this year, as nothing big really happened. He has been the one to hold my hand at the hospital, and care for me when I have been helpless and broken. He helped me see I needed help for depression, and support me as I made radical changes in my life.

This year nothing go broken, and the only huge change I made was putting kale in my smoothies. Yet, this was the year I kept thinking to myself “I am damn lucky to have this man in my life.”

This was the year he called me on my shit. He pointed out where I was being a hypocrite and where I was being lazy. He pulled me from the couch when I needed to stop being so anti-social and he built a fort out of sheets when we both needed to stay in. He tried new things with me. He shared books with me. He let me do my own thing and let me know when he really needed company.

We should all be so lucky to have a partner in crime, a best friend, a pusher, and a spouse like that.

PS. Last year I wrote this.

Leave a Reply

