Reverb11: Make

(I loved Reverb10, where I was sent a writing prompt every day of December. It was a great way to reflect on the year and set some goals. Alas, Reverb11 is not going to happen unless I do it. So, I’ve collected the prompts from last year, exchanged a few of my own, and will select one every day.)

Prompt: Make. What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use? Is there something you want to make, but you need to clear some time for it?

I long to make my own clothes. I have tried many times, but I have to face the fact that my skills are not up to the task. I am always disappointed. The work is shoddy and the seams don’t stay.

This year, when I was forced to acknowledge that my favorite black skirt was on its last legs, I made an effort to find a replacement – and bought one skirt that was an overpriced disappointment – before thinking about making my own.

I am glad I didn’t make my own. There, I said it. I am glad that I didn’t make something this year. I would have been really disappointed. Instead, I searched on Etsy for a person who could do custom work. My skirt is currently in Florida with a woman who said she’d rip it up and make a new one from the fabric pattern pieces, but once she got the skirt said ‘I can see why you love this. I can’t bear to rip it up. I’ll copy it another way.’

I hope she sends it back soon. I hope I like her work. If I do, she’s getting my favorite – and very worn – pair of pants shipped to her next.

PS. Last year I wrote this.

Leave a Reply

