Reverb11: Action

(I loved Reverb10, where I was sent a writing prompt every day of December. It was a great way to reflect on the year and set some goals. Alas, Reverb11 is not going to happen unless I do it. So, I’ve collected the prompts from last year, exchanged a few of my own, and will select one every day.)

Prompt: Action. When it comes to aspirations, it’s about action, not ideas. What’s your next step?

Last night I had a profound dream. I dreamt that I was on a roller coaster. It was like the Log Ride, but in the dead of winter, and you got into a log not sitting with three other people by yourself as if it were a bed, tucked in with a thick black blanket. All around was cold dark water and bright snow. I could see my breath. As the logs started to move to the ride I started to panic. I wanted out. I wanted off. The logs headed up and up and up, and I tried to grip on to something but there was only blanket. I started to wonder if I was even strapped in.

And then a voice told me to relax. Close my eyes.

And I did. The ride reached it’s peak and we plummeted down. Up. Upside down. Because it was a dream I could see both the blackness of closed eyelids and the roller coaster. It became a wonderful dream instead of a nightmare. The blanket was warm and the ride was fast, and when it was over I woke up.

In the middle of the longest night of the year, I was wide awake, a soothing voice in my head. Relax. Close your eyes. Let it happen. Relax on the Roller Coaster of Life.

Pretty heavy stuff, really. A message I am going to take with me into the new year. It’s a strange way to respond to the prompt about action, but sometimes it’s not about charging forward. It could be about taking a deep breath and closing your eyes.

PS. Last year I wrote this.

Leave a Reply

