Reverb11: Community

(I loved Reverb10, where I was sent a writing prompt every day of December. It was a great way to reflect on the year and set some goals. Alas, Reverb11 is not going to happen unless I do it. So, I’ve collected the prompts from last year, exchanged a few of my own, and will select one every day.)

Prompt: Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2011? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2012?

This is going to sound like a silly answer to this question, but I asked the Tofu Dude his name this year. Every week we buy tofu at the farmer’s market – it is so good! – and every week I make small talk. It felt odd to see someone every week and not know his name. Finally, I asked. It was awkward. I think he thought I was hitting on him.

I love my farmer’s market. I love how good the produce is, and how good I feel after spending a Saturday morning buying my food from people. Real people. Like Kai, my Tofu Dude.

As far as community in 2012, after looking at last year’s answer, I think I’m just going to let it happen. You can’t plan community, not really. I will stay open to whatever or whomever 2012 brings my way.

Leave a Reply

