Reverb12: Music

(For the past two years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts to give myself a question to answer every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources, and created my own month of questions.)

Music. What’s your favorite song from 2012?

This is a hard one. I searched to see which songs I played the most often, and there were a few winners: Fiona Apple’s ‘Hot Knife,’ Coldplay’s ‘Every Teardrop is a Waterfall,’ and Florence and the Machine’s ‘Heartlines.’But there is a song that completely captured my attention the very first time I heard it and spoke to me so completely and totally it actually made me shiver and shake, well then that is Ane Brun’s ‘This Voice.’

I’m not completely ready to articulate how this speaks to me, but I know that this song is important to me. It goes on a playlist in my head I call Persephone’s Mix – a place I keep songs that seem to be a soundtrack for my life. Deb Talen’s ‘Rocks and Water’ is on that list, as is the song I talked about last year.

Ane Brun’s This Voice goes like this…

This voice
Is it calling?
Is it calling?
It´s your choice. She said
Take or let go
Is it calling?
When you´re all alone
In your own sweet home
Is it calling?
This voice
Is it calling?

I have to say
I choose get out of my way
Leave my ghost alone
Let me walk on by

This voice
It is calling
It is calling for me
If you still have´nt heard it
You should´nt ask for it
You should just leave it be
´cause you´re deaf until
the day for you it will
be calling
this voice
it is calling

Leave a Reply

