Reverb12: One Word

(For the past two years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts to give myself a question to answer every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources, and created my own month of questions.)

One Word. Encapsulate the year 2012 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2013 for you?

Past words have included: Lush, Luminous, Venturesome, and Integrated. For 2012 the word that comes to mind is Voice. Or better yet, Vox. I used my voice. I spoke up. I taught. I sang. I outlined what I wanted. I asked good questions. I voiced my dreams so they could come true.

The first word that came to mind for 2013 was Virgo. An odd word, but to me it encapsulates everything I’m hoping to be next year. My mom is a Virgo. While she is an ‘eat dessert first’ kind of person, she also always gets her stuff done. She knows when and where to let go and have a good time – a glass of wine, an extra slice of cake, a good laugh. She also knows how to finish a project, make a plan, or make people fall in line. I want both of those traits for myself next year. I want to enjoy all the wonderful things lined up for 2013 – vacations and opportunities and wonderful luxurious moments. I also want to get shit done – meet deadlines early because I planned well, mark off time for myself to get planning done. I want to be prepared. I want to have 3 months of food squirreled away and I want to start getting ready to move up in my career.

But Virgo? Is that really a good choice? What about prepared, or clarify or strength or resolve? Those mean things like: decision, determination, boldness, conclusion, courage, decidedness, design, earnestness, firmness, fixed purpose, intention, objective, project, purpose, purposefulness, purposiveness, resoluteness, resolution, steadfastness, undertaking, will, and willpower.

No. I think it will have to be Virgo. It’s a word I can see myself repeating in my head. It’s code for ‘What would Mom do?”

Leave a Reply

