Reverb12: 13 Things

(For the past two years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts to give myself a question to answer every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources, and created my own month of questions.)

13 Things. What are 13 things your life doesn’t need in 2013? How will you go about eliminating them? How will getting rid of these 13 things change your life?

1. Tiny bobby pins.
2. Rubber hair bands – ouch-less or otherwise.
3. Hairspray.
4. Pre-styling lotion.
5. Frizz-calming lotion.
6. Hair clips with plastic teeth.
7. Barrettes of any size.
8. Dry shampoo.
9. Big brushes.
10. Hairdryer.
11. Specialty shampoo and conditioner.
12. 15 minutes of my mornings – every morning.
13. Worry about my hair.

That’s right. I cut it off. I’ve been growing it out for two years and yesterday I just got fed up. Hair in my face. Hair needing a blow dry in the morning. Hair with product in it that makes my husband back away at the smell. Enough! I called the salon and my favorite stylist had an appointment so I just went for it. I feel a thousand times prettier. I feel lighter in more ways than one. Now I just have to deal with all the accessories that go with having long hair – seriously, how do you get rid of hair bands?

PS. Last year I wrote this…and it totally didn’t work. Lesson? Keep it simple.

Leave a Reply

