Reverb12: Holiday

(For the past two years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts to give myself a question to answer every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources, and created my own month of questions.)

Holiday. If you could take a day that’s important to you and make it a holiday, which day would it be? How would you celebrate?

Oh, how I want to throw a giant St. Lucia party! I have long drooled over the photos Joanna Powell Colbert posts about her annual shindig. I have a fantasy of moving to a small town and organizing a St. Lucia party for the whole community. Making it a thing. Encouraging everyone to bring their favorite cookies for the Sweet Room and having a local choir sing the song as St. Lucia enters. Getting everyone excited about a Christmas costume party – come as Jack Frost! Ralphy from A Christmas Story! As Krampus! As Mr. Claus or La Befana. As anyone you like! It would be awesome. A holiday celebration that didn’t involve gifts or church. Just merriment.

I know some people who got up before dawn today and greeted the sun. It was a new moon and St. Lucia’s day. A powerful day. I didn’t do anything dramatic but I paid attention to my dreams. I started using a new deck of cards. I prayed in silence and darkness before lighting a candle.

I did cut off my hair and while it wasn’t in honor of St. Lucia I could not help but think of the maiden yesterday as I watched myself change. I felt myself get younger, and when she turned me around and my hair was short I said “there I am” as if I’d been hiding under all that hair. All that grown up nonsense about what a woman is supposed to look like. All those myths that talk about goddess making themselves young again – there is something to that. In the dead of winter I am energized and refreshed. Thank you St. Lucia for lighting the way!

PS. Last year I wrote this – I do love those winter holidays!

Leave a Reply

