Reverb13: Wonder

(For the past three years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts for every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources, and created my own month of questions.)

Wonder. How did you cultivate a sense of wonder in your life this year?

I volunteered to lead two rituals for my circle this year – one at Imbolc and one on the full November moon. The first one I do-wrote with the leader of the group, and the second one I told him I’d show up ready to rock and roll. In both rituals, there was a moment that I did not anticipate and yet was incredibly beautiful and spine-tingling.

I will always remember the moment at Imbolc when my mouth opened in awe and I was just simply dazzled by the beauty of the universe. After everyone had a chance to take a candle and write things on it – wishes, prayers, affirmations, etc… – we lit them all from the candle at the center of the room. It had been dark except for this central candle, and suddenly the room was bright. A circle of light hovered in mid-air as everyone held their candle aloft in unison. We had planned this, but had not really thought it through. We could never have planned this kind of beauty and synchronization.

It was a gift for all of us and a bit of a gateway for me personally. You can plan a ritual to the last detail, but if you don’t leave room for the divine, or chance, or whatever to take over it’s not a good ritual. If you can leave that room there, and roll with whatever happens when everyone brings themselves into it, you are ready to lead people in ritual in a real and meaningful way. I will always remember what the room looked like in that moment as a confirmation of all that is, quite literally, wonderful.

P.S. In 2011 I wrote this.

Leave a Reply

