Reverb13: Brave

(For the past three years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts for every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’m not the only one who has held on to a project from 2010. This year I signed up for prompts from Project Reverb.)

Brave. What was the bravest thing you did in 2013?

This year I got up at a professional conference and confessed to the biggest mistakes I’d made in my career so far. I actually said the words “I am surprised I didn’t get fired” in front of people that might, someday, interview me for a job. It was part of a presentation I put together with a few other (also very brave) souls called My Favorite Mistake. We each talked about goofs we’d made, and how we learned from the experiences. It was a huge hit, and we spoke in front of a packed room. I got compliments the rest of the conference. It was a nutty idea, I still can’t believe that I not only convinced three other people who l like and respect to do it with me but that the session was accepted for the conference. In the end, it was liberating to get some of those things off my chest. It’s as if keeping them private – wincing at them when I remembered them once a year – kept them alive. Sharing them, owning up to some truly stupid or just plain naïve moves sucked all the power out of the moments. It was brave, but it was also liberating.

Leave a Reply

