Reverb13: 20/20

(For the past three years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts for every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’m not the only one who has held on to a project from 2010. This year I signed up for prompts from Project Reverb.)

20/20. Hindsight is the one thing we never benefit from in the present. Is there one moment you wish you could do over?

I put something about my husband on Facebook. It was a ‘he just tried to do X. is that ok? I say Y!’ kind of comment. It was nothing big or mean. It was a joke. Lots of people thought it was funny, and lots of people thought it was funny but took his side. It sparked discussion, to be sure.

Only problem? My husband is anti-Facebook. He’s increasingly private. He didn’t care for the teasing he got about it off-line. We had a fight about it – and we don’t fight. In the end, I realized that I was wrong. It’s not ok to make your partner the brunt of a joke if you are sitting at a dinner table with friends, so it’s not ok to do it online. I didn’t consider his feelings or any of the results – I just was concerned with being someone who said something witty enough to get attention on Facebook. Which is stupid. I am not someone who needs that kind of reinforcement.

If I could go back, I would not have posted it. In fact, the whole thing left me taking a long hard look at why I even have a Facebook account. I certainly use it less than I did now.

Leave a Reply

