Reverb13: Wisdom

(For the past three years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts for every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources, and created my own month of questions.)

Wisdom. What was the wisest decision you made this year, and how did it play out?

I am so glad I just went for it and applied to the graduate school program that sounded like the most fun, instead of the one that is more relevant. It was a decision made on a gut level, not in the head. Looking at my choice from the outside it was silly. I applied to a local university that is very competitive and world famous, and only decided to do so with two weeks to go before a very hard and fast deadline. I literally got my documents in with only hours to spare and didn’t tell a lot of people in case I didn’t get in.

It would have made much more sense to go for the school further away, where I was sure to get in, the deadline was easier to meet, and the degree was immediately applicable to my current career. But I just knew I had to go for it, go with the one that appealed on a gut level and just felt right.

Now that I have completed the first quarter, I am so happy. It was exactly the right choice. I am having fun – FUN – getting a master’s degree from a world-famous university.

P.S. Last year I wrote this.

Leave a Reply

