Reverb13: Make

(For the past three years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts for every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources, and created my own month of questions.)

Make. What was the last thing you made? What materials did you use?

This was the year of baby blankets. I made one for a girl and one for a boy.

The first was for a little girl who lives in San Francisco, and had a father who makes video games and mother is gregarious and bold and girly. So I used a rainbow collection of scraps from fabric samples acquired at FabMo to set rainbow squares on a gray background. Then I backed and edged the quilt in a fabulous pink pattern that had all the colors in it and then some. It was clearly for a girl, but not cute. It was a huge hit at the baby shower.

The second one was made quickly, and for special reasons. The two people who were there for me when I was in a car accident were due to have a kid on the anniversary of that accident. I realized that making something to welcome a new life into this world was a wonderful way to celebrate / move on from that day. So I took some fabric designed to look like ripples on a swimming pool (as mom and dad both love the water and get to the ocean as often as possible) and quilted them top and bottom together free form to look like waves. I actually finished it just as he was born, miles away. I sent it off, and the new mom and dad have not said anything about it – so I don’t even know if they got it, but the point was to make it. That one was more for me than them, really.

I have no doubt there are more baby blankets in my future. Everyone is having kids! I hope they can continue to be so satisfying.

PS. In 2011 I wrote this.

Leave a Reply

