Reverb 13: Soul Food

(For the past three years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts for every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources, and created my own month of questions.)

Soul Food. What did you eat this year that you will never forget?

I did a lot more canning this year than last, and after making too-sweet pineapple jam and really nice strawberry preserves and lackluster green bean pickles and a truly underwhelming salsa I did a ridiculously simple recipe for taqueria-style carrots that not only exposed me to the wonders of Mexican oregano but was delicious. I love the carrots you can get at a taqueria salsa bar, but often the places I go have pickled radishes instead. These carrots are just what I want and it’s fantastic to have them in the fridge to add to a take out burrito. Also, while my husband and friends have put up with the canning adventures, they have been wary. This was the stuff that made them see the virtue of doing some canning at home. Now that flavor – cold crunchy spicy herby- is associated with success.

P.S. In 2011 I wrote this.

Leave a Reply

