Reverb13: Friendship

(For the past three years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts for every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources, and created my own month of questions.)

Friendship. How has a friend changed you or your perspective on the world this year?

I have a coworker who is also a friend. She’s had a rough year, and been diagnosed with an immunity issues that restricts her diet a great deal. Being vegan, she’s come to me with questions about how to make big dietary changes like that, and how to handle the social aspects. It was really sweet, at first, and had me feeling pretty good about how far I’ve come.

But then she said something that got caught in my head, and I keep thinking of. She went to her nutritionist, and basically got told she was ” half ass-ing the whole nutrition thing” I don’t know exactly why that was a moment, but I went home after that brief encounter and realized that I too was guilty of half ass-ing things too. I had gotten a little complacent in my efforts, and it was a catalyst for some changes. Interestingly enough, it was right around the time that my husband learned he ought to cut down on the carbs. So we’ve been thinking hard about that in our house. Here, at the end of the year, I am at a place where I’ve been thinking about this enough that I am even considering trying to go without dessert. I know! A chocolate fiend like myself? But yes. I have a few squares of chocolate after lunch and dinner. Not a huge deal, but do I really need it? Is it me half ass-ing things to need that as a crutch? I think it might be. I am not sure what is in store for me, but the idea is there, and ever so often I can hear her voice, so full of honest self awareness and a complete no-nonsense willingness to get shit done.

I am glad that’s in my head. I am grateful.

P.S. In 2011 I wrote this.

Leave a Reply

