Reverb13: Challenge

(For the past three years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts for every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’m not the only one who has held on to a project from 2010. This year I signed up for prompts from Project Reverb.)

Challenge. Did you take on a new challenge in 2013? What was it?

I started graduate school this year. I was worried it would be a huge challenge. I had not been in a class for a long time, and I had not taken a test, either. I was worried about keeping up with the reading and writing, and the late night class. I was worried my work would suffer. I was worried the whole thing would create distance between me and my husband.

In the end, however, I realized that it was a challenge, but a completely manageable one. My bandwidth is much bigger than I thought. All my student skills came back. I aced the papers and (knock on wood) did pretty well on the test. And had fun at it. And have started to make friends. And have started to look at problems at work in new ways. And felt my brain come alive again. And felt completely loved and supported by my husband.

If anything, taking on a big challenge like this was one of the best things I did all year. It showed me how much I can actually handle. It expanded things instead of contracting them. I have a lot of reading to do for the next class, but I’m excited! Bring it on.

Leave a Reply

