Reverb13: Community

(For the past three years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts for every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources, and created my own month of questions.)

Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2013?

It’s ironic that I write this on a night when I am supposed to be with the group that has defined community for me in 2013, but I am not. I am sick, and staying at home instead of going to the big Yule bash at the Oak Court. I will miss out on a great ritual, a gift exchange and some good conversation. Our host has even put together a book of all the rituals we’ve done this year, and printed it out for everyone. I was really looking forward to that! Sigh.

But! It shows me how far things have come. A year ago I went to a ritual at the house of a near-stranger, completely expecting to have stumbled upon another pocket of weirdoes who took the fact that they were Pagan to mean they didn’t have to shower. Tonight, these are people I care about and miss. I never, ever thought I’d find a small, local circle, full of normal people, to call my own. And yet here I am, missing them on the Winter Solstice. I am very lucky, even if I am stuck here on the couch with tea and Kleenex.

P.S. Last year I wrote this.

Leave a Reply

