Reverb13: Travel

(For the past three years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts for every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources, and created my own month of questions.)

Travel.How did you travel in 2013? How where would you like to travel in 2014?

It’s interesting. When I look back at the trips I’ve taken, the thing they all have in common is that they would have seemed completely unlikely to me a few years ago. I went places and did things I would not have guessed I’d be up for – and had a pretty good time!

We went to Mammoth, and I went mountain biking for the first time. We went to Hawaii, and saw stars from the top of a volcano at sunset. I went to Atlanta, and didn’t hate it. It looked a lot like home, actually. We went to Palm Springs with friends and hung out in the desert. I went to North Carolina and was again surprised by how similar The (big bad alien) South was to California. I went camping in the Redwoods – twice! Overnight and over two nights, and loved it. (Who are you? Asks my 20-something self.) I went to Orange County for a conference, and had a good time because of the people and the vegan-friendly options so close by. We went to Ashland for the 4th of July and loved it, despite the heat. Plus, there was Shakespeare! We spent a weekend in Yosemite, helping the boys adjust to altitude. In the Fall I went to Toronto, and was underwhelmed but ok. I went home to Colorado, and it was a bit easier to leave this time. The year ends with my trip to New Mexico, where I got to wander around Santa Fe in the snow. Lastly, we are headed up to Washington state to see family, and then back to Canada again (the other side of the country) for a stay in a tiny cabin on a tiny island on the edge of the world.

The more I travel, the less I pack. The more places I see, the more I realize that home is a choice you make. The more movement, the more likely I am to cultivate peace as a place inside.

It has not been the most glamorous year for travel. I have been stuck in crowded airports, on lumpy beds, cold or too hot or hungry. It’s been a good year despite all that, but after a week in Scotland the year prior anything would have been anti-climactic. I have no idea what the new year brings, but I hope it continues to teach me these lessons.

P.S. In 2011 I wrote this.

Leave a Reply

