Reverb13: Five Minutes

(For the past three years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts for every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources, and created my own month of questions.)

5 Minutes. Imagine you will completely lose your memory of 2013 in five minutes. Set an alarm for five minutes and capture the things you most want to remember about the year.

I want to remember struggling for breath at the top of a volcano, running around looking for a Port-o-Potty. And the sunset from up there. And the waiting in line to see the moons of Jupiter so clearly through a telescope.

This was the year you got into graduate school.

I want to remember learning how to make a podcast – so cool.

This was the year you discovered New World Witchery.

I want to remember the zing of my body after attending rituals. It was hard to fall asleep. It was comfortable but electric.

This was the year you watched American Horror Story, Season One in just one week.

I want to remember being speechless and teary after my parents sent me a check to cover school.

This was the year you planned rituals.

I want to remember walking to the bathroom in the dark at a campsite, letting the full moon light my way.

This was the year you meditated on a regular basis.

I want to remember his birthday, a long table full of friends in silly hats.

This was the year you started reading the Great Books.

I want to remember Kairos, both of them. The run in the woods. The deep prayer.

This was the year you realized you were very, very powerful.

I want to remember making bundles at the Summer Solstice.

This was the year you used coupons to stay at a fancy hotel in the city, bought hats and made love because you couldn’t sleep with the racket of a wedding downstairs.

I want to remember the feeling of little Caroline’s body on me as she demanded a story be read to her.

This was the year you learned to love the desert.

I want to remember getting the Star card at the ritual for Hecate’s Night.

This was the year you took down the website to attract private clients.

I want to remember running in the rain. That’s when I was a runner.

This was the year you failed at gardening. Again.

I want to remember running from the mailbox with my admission letter. I knew it was on its way – but still. I want to remember the magic I made to send my application on its way with as much luck as possible.

This was the year you tried to talk to your grandmother.

I want to remember begin alone for a week, missing him desperately. Writing him and e-mail only to find he’d written one to me.

This was the year you started to think seriously about getting a new job.

I want to remember my friend telling me she was pregnant with her second. And sober. And so happy.

This was the year you decided it was the last for Writer’s Guild.

I want to remember playing Cards Against Humanity at a campsite with headlamps on, worrying we were all too loud.

I want to remember apologizing to the garden after the workmen were through.

This was the year you printed out photos for a family / friends photo wall.

I want to remember thinking I wanted kids after seeing About Time. Realizing he was thinking about it too.

This was the year you painted the bathroom the perfect shade of blue. And screwed up the ceiling.

This was the year you got an iPad and now you can’t live without it.

I want to remember watching all of Rosemary& Thyme while making quilts as the dining room table.

This was the year you bought a second pair of running shoes.

I want to remember how good it felt to write an academic paper again, flexing those dormant muscles of the brain.

P.S. Last year I wrote this.

Leave a Reply

