Reverb13: Party

(For the past three years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts for every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources, and created my own month of questions.)

Party.What social gathering rocked your socks off in 2013?

I went to a party at a professional conference that was flat-out amazing. It’s not unusual for colleges and universities to hold parties at this conference, but it’s normally a typical dynamic: a well-lit ballroom with tables and chairs, a bar that takes the drink tickets you were given at the door and a buffet station or two with lackluster finger food. If you are not picky about your food or drinks, you can get a full meal and pretty drunk if you accept enough invitations. Being vegan and a bit of a lightweight, I often stay sober and hungry.

But this party. Wow. The room was a ballroom, all right, but they had brought in special furniture. There were red lights, (the school color) and chandeliers. The food was good, and the custom drink – champagne and strawberry puree – was named for the school mascot. I had at least two of those, perhaps three. There were iPads all over the room loaded with a program that highlighted the programs of the school, as well as what current students were up to. And then they brought in the national championship Acapella group who sang Florence and the Machine songs perfectly and mingled between sets.

And as you left? A red iPad cover with the school logo on it oh-so-discreetly. I had just broken my other cover… I was looking for a new one. I normally shy away from using any freebies that advertise a particular institution – would not want to se seen playing favorites! – but I’m still using this thing. I went to a breakfast meeting for another school recently, and the counselor who sat down next to me had the same cover. He looked at me and said “I know what party you went to!” and we smiled.

It’s not often I feel like a VIP. After all, I am in education. But this was nice. It was lux and over the top and really fun. It made a great change of pace, and you bet I will be RSVP-ing to the next shindig this school hosts.

PS. In 2011 I wrote this.

Leave a Reply

