Reverb14: At the Start

(For the past four years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts to give myself a question to answer every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources like Project Reverb and created my own month-and-a-bit of questions.)

At the Start. Where did you start the year?

As far as I’m concerned, the new year started in a cabin in Canada. We went to the Point No Point resort after visiting family in Bellingham, Washington. It was a one room cabin, with a hot tub on the deck that looked out over the ocean and every sight line had been blocked so it was as if we were on a planet all by ourselves. We took walks in dripping wet forests. We saw a bald eagle eat his breakfast in a tree, having plucked a fish from the ocean moments earlier. We sat by the fire and played cribbage – after we learned how. We talked, and read books and waited.

We both knew we were waiting for something big. It had only been a few days earlier that the idea of moving had gotten solid and even though no one else would have been able to say it was real, I think we both knew it was going to happen. So a retreat was really nice. A soft, silent, spot to rest and recharge. We talked, and didn’t talk. We read. We ate simple meals and played music from the tiny Bluetooth speaker he had gotten for Christmas. We slept really well.

I will never forget that cabin. It was hands-down one of the best vacations ever and every single inch of that place is etched into memory like I’d picked up a pen and drawn it on my skin. I find myself wishing I was there again a little too often to be healthy. I would go back in a heartbeat.

So, I started the year on the edge of the ocean, waiting for the world to spin around me and change everything. I started the year happy and optimistic and completely ignorant. I stared the year in love, and at peace, and feeling brave. I started this year by retreating from what I sensed lay ahead.

(Last year I wrote this.)

Leave a Reply

