Reverb14: Lesson Learned

(For the past four years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts to give myself a question to answer every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources like Project Reverband created my own month-and-a-bit of questions.)

Lesson Learned. What was the best thing you learned about yourself this past year?

I suck at living alone. I’m a mess.

Now, this came as a huge shock. I’m an introvert, and an only child and so when things go wrong I have this fantasy in my head that it never would have happened if I was totally in charge, and in control of how the house was run because I lived alone.

Yes, on my own the laundry would always be done on time. I’d eat really well – meals I’d made myself from scratch. I’d get up early and work out. I’d end up watching less tv. I’d be this monk/yogi/Martha who’s bed was always made.

I actually had never lived alone until this year. Mom and Dad’s house to a dorm to a shared house to living with a fiancé. People are always surprised when they hear that too, possibly as I seem to be the kind of person who won’t share.

Let me reiterate it – I suck at living alone. Screw laundry. And you can forget cooking. I’ll have bread, wine and chocolate and call it dinner. Working out? Not on your life, especially since I got to bed really late and had wine for dinner. And there was so much television. As in I discovered Dr. Who and watched 7 seasons in about a month.

I am better off when I have to compromise, work with, and within a framework of other people’s needs. It helps me focus. I don’t have that fantasy any more, of being alone. It’s really nice to get ‘me’ time, but being completely left to your own devices doesn’t make you a better person. Thank you 2014 for that life lesson.

(Last year I wrote this. Which, if you read it is either funny or terrifying because it’s on the same topic. You’d think it wouldn’t take this long to learn the darn lesson!)

Leave a Reply

