Reverb14: Beautifully Different

(For the past four years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts to give myself a question to answer every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources like Project Reverband created my own month-and-a-bit of questions.)

Beautifully Different. Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful.

The girls at my new school say I’m calm. The other staff will come into my office and say “I just wanted to thank you for what you said,” when whatever it was I said was only being polite and fair and giving credit where it’s really due. People at my new workplace are surprised at how eager I am to collaborate, or let people help. My boss said she was so happy there were no nervous jokes in my presentations.

I replaced two people who were good people, but complete opposites of each other. They had a really hard time working together, and it radiated out. They got so wrapped up in their own struggles they didn’t want help, or change, or whatever. I get it. I’ve been there. But that’s why I never want to be there again. So I say thank you, and please, and “what a great idea” or “Becky had a great plan” or “You have great ideas. I’d love to put our heads together and make this better.”

And people love it. And I love being the breath of fresh air. I know it’s mostly because the bar was set so low after years of these two people struggling with each other, but still. I like to think it’s also something about me – that I’m calm, and friendly, and open.

(Last year I wrote this.)

Leave a Reply

