Reverb14: Future Self

(For the past four years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts to give myself a question to answer every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources like Project Reverband created my own month-and-a-bit of questions.)

Future self. Imagine yourself 5 years from now. What advice would you give yourself?

Dear heart,

I write to you from a year that is so far removed from any plan that I hesitate to even imagine where you are. I hope you have finished graduate school, although your past self has no idea how to make that happen now. I hope however you have spent your time these past five years you did it with a heart open to change, and a willingness to be taken off-track. I hope you have not forgotten the lessons of this year. You are capable of anything you set your mind to – cliché but oh, so very true in your case. Don’t ever forget that, either.

It’s appropriate you saw a production of Into The Woods this year. Remember Red Riding Hood:

And he showed me things
Many beautiful things,
That I hadn’t thought to explore.
They were off my path,
So I never had dared.
I had been so careful,
I never had cared.
And he made me feel excited-
Well, excited and scared.

I hope wherever you are in 2019 you are excited and scared, and are off the path.

(Last year I wrote this.)

Leave a Reply

