Reverb14: Anchor

(For the past four years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts to give myself a question to answer every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources like Project Reverb and created my own month-and-a-bit of questions.)

Anchor. What kept you tethered this year?

This year’s answer is the same as last year’s, which is remarkable. I just bought my WeMoon15 and realized that that book really does shape my year. Last year it was 14, which is usually Temperance, but they called it Radical Balance. Boy, was that theme appropriate.

The card for 15 is the Devil, but thy are calling it Wild Card and that’s been a huge help as I look forward and plan the year. I want to be more flexible, playful, footloose. And this diary/dayplanner/record of tarot spreads will really help with that.

Almost every day I draw a tarot card, and write it down in my WeMoon diary. Sometimes I write an interpretation, or note that this same card keeps showing up, or note how it relates to a dream I had. It’s often the only moment I have to myself in the morning, and the closest thing to meditation on most days.

As I said last year: “It is a small act, but a great comfort. Even on my stressful days, I did it. Even away from home, I did it. Over and over and over, I returned to that place inside myself that is open to a bit of magic and symbolism. I have recorded most readings. I have kept a blog about tarot off and on. Some years I add up all the reading to see which cards came up the most. That’s really not the point, however. It’s the ritual. The ritual keeps me grounded. It keeps me going.”

I look forward to filling up this next book with the magic and mystery of the next year.

Leave a Reply

