Reverb14: Soul Food

(For the past four years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts to give myself a question to answer every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources like Project Reverb and created my own month-and-a-bit of questions.)

Soul Food. What did you eat this year that you will never forget?

I bit into the vegan BLT and groaned out loud. The salty-fatty of bacon. The tang of mayo. I’d missed it! And here it was – plus in season tomato and crunchy toasted bread! It was an ecstatic experience. I do believe I hushed my husband, I wanted to concentrate on my lunch.

We now live across the street from a Mendocino Farms restaurant. They serve fabulous sandwiches. I eat there so often the staff knows my name and my usual order – a Tofu Bahn Mi with no jalapenos and the sweet chili sauce on the side. I also adored their October special – a vegan dosa wrap. Freakin’ incredible.

I shudder to think how much I have spent on sandwiches in the past few months, but there is something to be said for the fact that if I’m going to eat out this much, at least it’s organic and vegan and all that.

(Last year I wrote this.)

Leave a Reply

