Reverb14: Travel

(For the past four years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts to give myself a question to answer every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources like Project Reverb and created my own month-and-a-bit of questions.)

Travel. How did you travel this year? How where would you like to travel next year?

This year was not one for glamorous trips or fantastic vacations. This was the year of the 5, specifically that stretch between the Bay Area and Los Angeles. I don’t even know how many times he or I drove that road to and from seeing each other between the time he moved down in February (or was it March) and I finally moved down in June.

I got to a place where I knew which rest areas to stop at, and which to pass on by. Slowly I realized that it was better for me to actually plan on stopping every hour, at a familiar place, than be driving along, looking for a place. And let me tell you there are plenty of places where you can pull off the freeway and find nothing. Nothing.

I will be just fine if I never have to make that drive ever again.

(Last year I wrote this.)

Leave a Reply

