Reverb14: Surprise

(For the past four years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts to give myself a question to answer every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources like Project Reverb and created my own month-and-a-bit of questions.)

Surprise. What surprised you the most this year?

It was the first night of my trip to help apartment hunt and we’d cone into a CPK, exhausted and expecting something other than the decent meal we actually got. When he got up to wash his hands after a messy pizza, I looked around. After all, these were my people now. This was home, and I had better start getting used to it.

I noticed something that completely threw me off balance as I looked around the restaurant. Something I hesitate to even write about because it’s odd, in this day, to say you notice such things. But still, here goes: I saw people of all different races and ethnicity eating together. I don’t mean there were tables of Asian people and tables of African-American people and tables of White people. I mean the table next to us were clearly all friends, and clearly all of different ethnic groups. I had never, ever seen that in San Jose. It’s something I had actually never seen in Oakland, diverse though it is. I was stunned. And happy. I grew up in an environment like this. It was not until I moved when I was ten did I know the rest of the world was a pretty self-segregating place.

It was a nice surprise.

Leave a Reply

