Reverb15: The Fool

(For the past 5 years I have used the same journal prompts in December. In 2015 I decided to do something different that combine my interest in journaling and trot cards. Interestingly enough, I have 22 favorite prompts, and they match up nicely with the Major Arcana.)

THE FOOL. Where were you – physically, mentally, financially or emotionally – when you started the year?

Interestingly enough, at the start of this year I think I was really dealing with the wisdom of the Fool. The one who is in the moment. Or, rather, I was calling myself out for not being in the moment. From my diary:

1.3.15 – What if this is the year I use up all the lip gloss I’ve bought on impulse? And the year I eat all the fancy jam I only buy when we have house guests? And burn down all the pretty candles? What would happen if I stop saving the wine for a special occasion? So many things that I surround myself with are plans for the future. A perfect future, that so long as it remains a plan, a project not yet started, is perfect and therefore I am perfect in that imagined version of my life. What if this is the year I stop planning and start doing? It might help. It might help to accept that life is short, plans change and are never as perfect as you imagine and that this girl right here and now is just fine. Yes! Drink the wine! Make the dress out of that silk you have been saving! Wear the makeup on a random Tuesday. Yes. Say yes to this moment, not the moment that has not happened yet.

I think that’s great advice to follow, even a year later. And, as I think about it, I did manage to do some of this. Not all the time. The future is still a perfect place I like to think about more often than the present, but I did some things that kept me here and now this year.

(P.S. Last year I wrote this.)

Leave a Reply

