Reverb15: The Hermit

(For the past five years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts to give myself a question to answer every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. For 2015 I combined my love of tarot with the Reverb questions, matching my favorite questions to the 22 Major Arcana cards in the deck.)

THE HERMIT. Imagine you can write a letter and give it to your future self. What advice do you have?

It’s 2015 and I have to admit that I have no advice for my future self. Odd, as I currently get paid to give lots of advice all day long. Today I wrote an entire plan of action for a mother and her teenage daughter. And, I have aspirations to be a professional tarot reader. What’s that if not another job where you give advice to people?

The Hermit is your card!  He’s all about advice! What is this? I’m not sure but I have to be honest. As I finish up this particular year, I am loathe to give my future self any words of wisdom. If I had to I’d say this:

You are fine. Really. So stop trying to ‘improve.’ It will happen along the way.

You can handle a lot more than you think. So stop worrying.

You will figure it out as you go with more grace than you can imagine. So stop drafting a plan for a situation that’s not defined and will change. The situation? Life.

Leave a Reply

