Reverb15: Justice

(For the past five years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts to give myself a question to answer every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. For 2015 I combined my love of tarot with the Reverb questions, matching my favorite questions to the 22 Major Arcana cards in the deck.)

JUSTICE. What was the wisest decision you made this year?

Last year I was doing the job of two people. I’d work, take perhaps 20 minutes for lunch, come home and eat dinner while doing e-mail. No workouts. Bad diet. Poor sleep. I sacrificed my health for my job so completely it was scary. This year, I knew I couldn’t keep it up. I hired help (fantastic!) but I also made sure not to fall back into the same pattern.

I made a constellation of good decisions.

First, I hired a good person with complementary skills. I trusted her with big projects right away. She was delighted to have a boss that handed off things she was really interested in diving into. I hated those projects anyway, so it was a win-win.

Second, I blocked off my after-work hours so there wasn’t even the slightest chance that anyone would ask for a meeting after I’d been there for 8 hours already. Ditto with lunches. They are there for everyone to see on the calendar, and I take at least a half-hour. (No one takes longer than that where I work – sigh.)

Third, I scheduled workouts in the evenings and stuck to it. (I signed up for a service that books my classes and then charges me if I don’t show up! That’s motivation.) I leave when the day is over, and encourage others to do so as well. Luckily, my boss is an active woman who steps out for a mid-morning boxing class on occasion so she wants to know what workout I’m doing that day and always wishes me well.

Just one of those choices would have been fine, but would not have altered my life so completely. It was the way the decisions added up that turned out to be the most powerful, the most wise.

Leave a Reply

