Reverb15: The Hanged Man

(For the past five years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts to give myself a question to answer every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. For 2015 I combined my love of tarot with the Reverb questions, matching my favorite questions to the 22 Major Arcana cards in the deck.)

THE HANGED MAN. Is there one moment you wish you could do over now that you have 20/20 hindsight?

I had extra money in my budget this year, and so proposed going to a very fancy seminar at a very fancy school we have all heard of. My boss loved the idea, as it was attached to a fancy school we have all heard of.

It was a total flop of a week. I learned nothing. The food was bad, the schedule punishing, and I was told that I could have (should have in one case) taught those sessions myself. It compounded my doubts about my profession, and if I had reached the pinnacle already. (Sure, I could get paid more. I could have a fancier-sounding title. But for me, if there is nothing more to learn, I’m over it.)

The best part was grumbling about it with the people I met. I wish I had a do-over. I wish I had my week back – we all did. Also, the tee shirt they gave out at the end was itchy.

Leave a Reply

