Reverb15: Temperance

(For the past five years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts to give myself a question to answer every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. For 2015 I combined my love of tarot with the Reverb questions, matching my favorite questions to the 22 Major Arcana cards in the deck.)

TEMPERANCE. This year, when did you feel your body and mind were the most integrated?

I am not a runner. I did not like my trip to Boston. But the answer to this question is running in Boston.

I always pack my running kit and a travel yoga mat when I travel. 80% of the time I don’t use either. But I did that week. My hotel was across the street from a large pedestrian/bike path and so I got up every other day I was there and went for a run down the path. There were other runners and people biking and even crew teams out practicing on the river. It was easy to pretend I was a Bostonian and this was my normal routine.

I didn’t think to hard about it. I was itching to work out because I was sitting in conference sessions all day for a week straight. There was a path. I had shoes. So I did it. Perhaps this moment stands out as integrated because for once my body got to be in charge instead of going along with whatever I’ve cooked up in my head.

Leave a Reply

