Reverb15: The World

(For the past five years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts to give myself a question to answer every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. For 2015 I combined my love of tarot with the Reverb questions, matching my favorite questions to the 22 Major Arcana cards in the deck.)

THE WORLD. One Word. Encapsulate the year in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. What’s the word for next year?

2015’s word is messy. It was a messy year full of mistakes, things undone, and new directions. I went a hundred different directions at once. I’ve gotten a whole lot more comfortable with not knowing what the hell I’m doing.

So, I want the opposite for 2016.

The words that keep coming to mind as I sift through all my options are all 9 of Coins types of words: gardening, caretaking, tending, cultivation. This next year I want to take great care of myself and my family. I want the great ideas I’ve put in place at work to have a chance to take off. I want to have structure that gives me a peaceful rhythm. I want to learn new things. I want to build this blog so I can connect with like-minded people.

I will cultivate new skills.

I will cultivate good relationships.

I will cultivate my daily life like it’s a garden – weed what doesn’t belong. Feed what’s struggling. Offer space to what is thriving so it can thrive more.

I will cultivate habits and structures that work for me.

Cultivate. That’s it. Ok. Now I’m ready for 2016.

(P.S. Last year I wrote this.)

Leave a Reply

