Reverb16: Challenge

(For the past six years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts to give myself a question to answer every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources, and created my own month-and- a-bit of questions.)

Challenge. What challenge did you take on this year?

I decided to get serious about running this year. The came as a complete surprise to me and pretty much everyone else who’s ever known me. And yet, I had this urge. I wanted a new physical challenge. I was envious of the pleasure my husband found in it. Also, I was tired of thinking of it as something I could not to. I’d run as a child. I’d been the fastest girl in the class several years in a row! But I’d been sidelined by injury and illness. I thought I’d never run again despite a few stints with Couch to 5 K programs. But still there was this urge. I read up on the Walk / Run method and started plotting.

In August, I ran for mile on a treadmill. 15 minutes later I was exhausted, bright red, and my head was pounding. Normally, this kind of run would have convinced me that I shouldn’t run. But it was a base line for a new approach. 

Since then I’ve set up three walk / runs a week. Each time I’ve increased my pace or my time running. I’ve done this slowly. So, so slowly. 15 minute pace to a 14:45 minute pace the next week. Then 30 seconds of running with a minute of walking to 45 seconds of running with a minute walking the week after. As of this post I’m running at a 12 minute pace for 2 minutes, and walking for a minute. And I love it. A good sweat, but nothing that kills me. I feel like a runner, not a sweaty, panting mess.

In the new year I’ll be switching things up. With hikes planned, I need to add some stair climbing into the mix. But I’ll keep running. The goal is to get up to 30 minutes of running without stopping, perhaps even run a 5K. Why? Well, I have this urge.

(P.S. I wrote this last time.)

Leave a Reply

