Reverb16: Favorite Things

(For the past six years, I’ve used Reverb10 prompts to give myself a question to answer every day of December. It’s a great way to reflect on the year and set goals for the future. I’ve kept my favorite prompts, added a few from other sources, and created my own month-and- a-bit of questions.)

Favorite Things. List your favorite things from the year. Could be material items, food, people, anything!

It’s a small list this year. All things that might seem silly to pay for, but was money well spent for me. 

Voter’s Edge – a great online resource that made voting easier. I could see every item or person I’d be asked to vote on, as well as background, major contributors or opponents, and links to relevant news articles. It saved my choices and let me have access to that list when I was in the polling place. I liked it so much I donated 10 bucks to the non-profit that makes it so the service can be around in another 2 years. 

PocketCasts – I paid for a podcast app for my phone. Some could argue it’s completely unnecessary as you can get things like this for free, but I love it and am so glad I shelled out. The interface is great, it’s easy to discover new shows, cue up a whole playlist for playing in the car, and it has a LIFE CHANGING feature. I can listen to podcasts on a mode that adjusts speed, snips silences, and boosts volume. I can listen to the news at 1.5 speed to get more in and Spanish language podcasts at .7 speed to catch more words. Best 4 bucks of the year. 

The Museum of Jurassic Technology – a strange parody (I think?) of a museum and an oasis of calm in this crazy city and well worth the 10 bucks to get in. It’s dark, with lots of twisty rooms. We saw a fake exhibit on the lives of Russian Canine Cosmonauts and the excavations of mobile home parks. There’s a dovecote on the roof and live Sitar music. It’s hard to describe, but I loved it.

Leave a Reply

